Lying on the eastern part of Istria, Labin is a typical acropolis town: its old town surrounded with a town wall is located on the top of a 320 m high hill.

The settlement that bore the name Albona or Alvona already existed around 2000 BC. The fall of the Roman empire was followed by Frank and German rule. From 1420 Labin belonged to the Republic of Venice. The reign of the Habsburg Monarchy lasted one century and was followed by Italian occupation. The locals were not too keen on the Italians either: in 1921 they proclaimed the Labin Republic that survived only 37 days. At the end of the 19th century due to the coal mining a new quartier developed, this was called Podlabin.

Although Labin is not a coastal town, the lack of the beach has been successfully compensated for rich cultural programmes. In the old town art ateliers follow each other. One of the most important art events of Istria is the Mediterranean Sculptors’ Symposium in  Dubrova park (along the road towards Rijeka). Year after year sculptors from all over the world gather together here and work for about a month on new pieces of art which has been exhibited in this park. Presently there are about 90 works on display.

Getting here & around

By car

Labin lies along the road 66 between Opatija and Pula. On the road from Opatija one can not resist to stop at Plomin bay in order to enjoy the breathtaking panorama. The old town on the top of the hill can be approached on Zelenice road. Parking is available on Tito square.

By bus

Pula - Labin  47 Kn

Rijeka - Labin 61 Kn

Labin - Rabac  12 Kn (buses run in every hour)

Tourist information

The tourist office is situated in the old town.

Aldo Negri 20.
Tel: +385 52 855 560

e-mail: tzg.labin@pu.htnet.hr

internet: www.rabac-labin.com

There is also an info point at Titov Trg 10. (Tel: +385 52 852 399)


Tito square

Walk under a medieval passage, Torion, to get to the main square of the old town named after the partisan leader and the former president of Yugoslavia. When arriving by car, the Alda Negrija road leads here. There are many historical buildings here, including the Town Hall, the 16th-century Town loggia and a round bastion. On the top of the bastion the canon recalls the monarchical times (16-17th century). The Town loggia played an important role in the life of the town, the news and court verdicts were read out here.

To discover the ancient nucleus of the old town, walk through Porta Sanfior. This town gate was built in 1587 and its facade bears Labin’s coat of arms and the lion of Venice. Although there are signs showing the way to the renowned buildings, orientation is not too simple because the signs of monuments under protection are missing from the historical buildings.

Old town

The Church of the Birth of the Blessed Virgin Mary (Ulica 1. Maja 1.) was erected in 1336 on the foundation of an 11th-century smaller church. On the facade the relief of the Venetian lion (1604) reminds of the Venetian rule.

In Rike Milevoja street a solitary bell tower (zvonik) stands from the 17th century.

From the 17th-century watch-tower (Vidikovac Fortica) there is a stunning view over ’new Labin’. The panel blocks of flats recall the recent mining history of the town. This scenery is quite unusual on the Mediterranean Istria.

The Franković Vlačić Palace (Ulica Giuseppina Martinuzzi 7.) houses the memorial collection of the theologist and protestant reformer Matija Vlačić Ilirik (1520–1575). The front of the palace is adorned with a coat of arms with a pelican.

Town Museum

Ulica 1. Maja 6.
Working hours:  Mon-Fri 10.00-13.00 and 17.00-19.00

                       Sat 10.00-13.00

Admission charge: 15 Kn  (children 10 Kn)
The beautiful baroque Battialla-Lazzarini palace houses the museum. The exhibition recalls the mining industry of the town and the short-lived Republic of Labin.


Discover Istria!


Click for Labin, Croatia Forecast

Search Hotels in Croatia

Check-in date


Check-out date


Discover Istria!

Click for Labin, Croatia Forecast